1. Rules regarding the forum and the chatbox can be found here!. Our most recent update: here!.
  2. Want more banners on your profile? You can achieve the Arena Runner Up and Monthly Arena Champ banner now in the Monthly Arena Contest! If you want to participate, click on the link here
  3. Be part of the campaign rinny launched, now hosted by Memel0rd, and earn a new banner on the forum, The Supporter Campaign! - Check out the thread for more details Here
  4. Interested or play the JP version of ffbe? Join the discussions in our JP section here!.
  5. We now have our own Discord Server up and running! For more information, go to the thread here!.

Am I out of luck?

Discussion in 'General' started by RickFish, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. RickFish

    RickFish Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Global ID:
    309,936,757
    Rank:
    72
    I've been having problems with my FFBE for the past day or so; after loading, I'm given just a black screen. I thought maybe the problem was on my end, so I uninstalled the game and reinstalled it. Now, the game is asking for me to name my character, it's talking about running through the tutorial, etc. I have spent almost 200 hours on this game and I'm almost done with Season 1... did uninstalling the game mean that I just shot myself in the foot and lost all that freaking progress? All those units, all my lapis, everything?? Please tell me that this is not the case, because I don't think I could take restarting from scratch.
     
  2. Bobzitto

    Bobzitto Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    There is a button in the login screen to recover the data...maybe that works?
     
  3. Isaac

    Isaac Ascended Member

    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    867
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Global ID:
    702 220 272
    Leads:
    7 Esther, Ely, Cid, Kurasame, Hyou
    Rank:
    170s
    You should have an account through facebook or google. I think you have to. Did you try logging in that way? When I forget to hit the facebook button, it also asks me to name the character, then I reset and login via facebook
     
  4. RickFish

    RickFish Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Global ID:
    309,936,757
    Rank:
    72
    I linked my account to my Facebook shortly after I started playing the game; I logged into my account on the title screen, and I even clicked the "Restore" button to prompt the game to redownload all files and DLC, but I am still prompted to enter a new character name when I try to play. I don't want to actually enter a name in case that might overwrite my data if it still exists somewhere.
     
  5. Isaac

    Isaac Ascended Member

    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    867
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Global ID:
    702 220 272
    Leads:
    7 Esther, Ely, Cid, Kurasame, Hyou
    Rank:
    170s
    but you must have linked to something when you played the game for the very first time. maybe gmail?
     
  6. MasterBlaster1

    MasterBlaster1 Ascended Member Supporter

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Global ID:
    229,223,932
    Hey Rick,

    Without seeing it, you should see a login with Facebook icon which should take you to a semi long update screen.

    That should do the trick. If it’s still funky, force quit (do not uninstall) the app and try again
     
  7. RickFish

    RickFish Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Global ID:
    309,936,757
    Rank:
    72
    I've logged into Facebook with the button on the title screen, gone through the lengthy update, and am still prompted to go through the tutorial. I am asked if I want to download during the tutorial or after the tutorial; I am not given any options to skip it, which leads me to believe the game thinks this is a new account. At least, that's what I would assume... if it pulled up my game data, one would imagine it would know the account wasn't new and wouldn't show the tutorial at all.
     
  8. b3l14l

    b3l14l "Hall of Fame" Member Supporter

    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    852
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Global ID:
    449822305
    This happens from time-to-time. Sometimes I have to uninstall FFBE and reinstall. Start from scratch (the app, not ur account).When u get the title screen, hit that FB button and log in. It should take u right back to the game.

    The last time it happens to me nothing would fix it until I uninstalled and reinstalled the app. Then it was fine
     
  9. aa25

    aa25 VIP VIP

    Messages:
    4,551
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Global ID:
    544243982
    Leads:
    Rena/Barb/Sophia/Beatrix/Esther/Sylvie
    Rank:
    180
    Calm down. If you already have linked the game with Facebook account, all you have to do is log in to your facebook account in-game again. That "Restore" button is actually restoring the game files, in case some is corrupted.
     
  10. Stavros

    Stavros Ascended Member Supporter

    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    971
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Global ID:
    311.925.875
    Leads:
    Many
    Rank:
    150ish
    If you are having real trouble then support should be able to help, if you have receipts for purchases.
     
  11. RandomMan

    RandomMan Ascended Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Global ID:
    367,900,707
    If anything you can try downloading the game on a different device and login with Facebook. If that works it just means you data is corrupted and you'll have to delete the entire app. As long as your data is still linked to a social media account you should be fine.
     
  12. MasterBlaster1

    MasterBlaster1 Ascended Member Supporter

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Global ID:
    229,223,932
    Hold off for a few hours. Sometimes it is glitchy. As long as the first account is def linked to FB, you should be fine.

    Same thing happened to me a few months back and I had the same reaction you are having now. The tutorial won’t save over your fb account unless you specifically link your fb account to tho new one
     
  13. RickFish

    RickFish Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Global ID:
    309,936,757
    Rank:
    72
    I think maybe I have found a solution... I did submit a ticket to support, but their response might be moot at this point. I checked some information within the game itself, and it recommended uninstalling the game, reinstalling, playing it from scratch (as in NOT using the Facebook login button on the title screen), completing the tutorial, and once the tutorial is finished, THEN log into Facebook through the Menu. I am hopeful that this will work, but regardless will post an update in a few moments once I've actually tried it for myself.

    Edit: This did NOT work. Going by what the game itself told me to do, I now have attached my Facebook account to a rank 2 account with only Rain, Lasswell, and Ashe. That is exactly what I was hoping wouldn't happen. So, thanks game for possibly ruining my progress and deleting over 50k lapis. I guess at this point I have no other option than to wait for a response from Support and see what they say can be done.

    By the way, I know sometimes I don't communicate what I mean properly... I was in no way blaming the people of this wonderful community, I was simply irked at the game for apparently giving me incorrect information and possibly destroying my account. Everyone that has replied in this thread and participates in this community is wonderful, so I really hope nobody here thought I was blaming them.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  14. Sorwen

    Sorwen VIP VIP

    Messages:
    9,018
    Likes Received:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Sometimes the game bugs and links multiple accounts to Facebook. It has happened multiple times that people have posted here over the years and customer service has fixed it with no problems. Only one time, that we know of, did they have a problem restoring the correct account and that person was compensated well for the issue.
     
  15. Stavros

    Stavros Ascended Member Supporter

    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    971
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Global ID:
    311.925.875
    Leads:
    Many
    Rank:
    150ish
    Stop being mean. Op is obviously upset about his account.
    If you lost your account with 50k lapis you’d be pretty pissed off.
    There’s no need to add salt to his problems.
    @RickFish good luck!
    @Just Marty play nice bro!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 13, 2019
    Galuf the Dwarf and bwnyc like this.
  16. bwnyc

    bwnyc "Hall of Fame" Member Supporter

    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    431
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Leads:
    Esther, Lilith, 2B
  17. RickFish

    RickFish Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Global ID:
    309,936,757
    Rank:
    72
    As of a few moments ago, I have been able to retrieve my account and I am back in the game. I missed a bit of login rewards, event things, expeditions, etc., but I'm just happy to have my account back. I will gladly accept those losses knowing that I don't have to start from scratch.
     
    Aricin, bwnyc, Cylian and 4 others like this.
  18. VexHaus

    VexHaus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Global ID:
    849,431,309
    Judging by the date of your first post, looks like you've been out for about 4-ish days or so. Is this correct? If so, then you're probably missing out on about 6 EX tickets and 1000 lapis from New Year's login bonuses, and you'll likely be missing out on the 5* EX ticket at the end of the month (if you've only missed 3 days, then I think you should still get the 5* EX ticket at the end of the month if you don't miss any other days logging in from here to January 31). You've also missed, I think, one day of the Vault of Hidden Treasures.

    Probably a good thing that the bulk of your missed days occurred during the tail end of a dead week plus some of the more middling New Year's rewards (I think you're just in time for the 5* EX ticket from New Year's login bonuses, like, tomorrow maybe?). Glad to see things otherwise worked out for you in the end! ::up::
     
  19. RickFish

    RickFish Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Global ID:
    309,936,757
    Rank:
    72
    Dang, that's a lot of EX tickets I missed out on, so that's quite unfortunate. And missing the 5* ticket is a huge loss. I've been trying to cash in all my raid tokens, so I currently have a ridiculous amount of units over my allotted amount (I think I'm 500+ with a limit of 300) so I need to start summoning units to use these copious EXP units on, so those EX tickets would really have come in handy. Man, I didn't realize how far behind I could get in just a handful of days. But I am very happy to be able to play again, I appreciate everyone's responses and support in this thread as always. Stay awesome, and thank you everyone.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  20. VexHaus

    VexHaus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Global ID:
    849,431,309
    Have you sold all your gil snappers and merged/enhanced all your cactuars to save unit space yet? Assuming you don't get a single great or amazing success while enhancing your cactuars with other cactuars, one single king minituar can take up to 44 other king minituars to max out at level 60 (4.5 million XP stacked into a single enhancement unit). You're probably already aware of that trick, but just in case, it never hurts to mention it! I went for the first two months or so of playing this game blithely unaware of that so I was always cramped for unit space after cashing out on raid events
     

Share This Page